"Steam" from "Brass Energy" by Barry Forgie
  • "Steam" from "Brass Energy" by Barry Forgie
  • "Steam" from "Brass Energy" by Barry Forgie

"Steam" from "Brass Energy" by Barry Forgie

SKU: Steam_by_Barry_Forgie

"Steam" by Barry Forgie

Movement 1 of the "Brass Energy" Suite

Commissioned in 2012 by Surrey Brass, with the support of the RC Sherriff Trust, "Brass Energy" by Barry Forgie reflects the relationship between Man and Energy over the years.

There is plenty of contrast between the five movements - entitled "Animal", "Steam", "Oil", "Nuclear" and "Recycle" - and mixes classical, jazz, and original styles to produce a very playable and listenable 25 minutes of music that also makes you think!

Score, Parts and recordings available exclusively from this site either as the complete suite or individual movements.

Scored for large ensemble:

  • Piccolo Trumpet, 4 trumpets

  • Four French Horns in F

  • Four Trombones

  • Bass Trombone

  • Tuba

  • String/Electric Bass

  • Drumkit

  • Percussion

Brass Energy Sheet Music

Sheet Music is available either as individual movements or the entire suite:

 The first movement of the "Brass Energy" by Barry Forgie:  "Steam" recorded live at its premiere on 24th November 2012, at the Vera Fletcher Hall, Thames Ditton

Performed by Surrey Brass, Composed and Conducted by Barry Forgie

Images and sequencing by John Goodwin.  Available on YouTube